Frequent question: What are the classes of vehicles?

What is classification of vehicle?

Automobiles can be classified as the number of wheels an automobile vehicle has, for example: Two Wheeler Vehicle (Motor Cycle, Scooty). Three Wheeler Vehicle (Auto, Toto, etc.). Four Wheeler Vehicle (Cars, Bus, Truck, Tractor, etc.). Six Wheeler vehicle (Bus, Trucks, etc.).

What are the main categories of vehicles?

Vehicle Types, Car Body Styles Explained

  • SEDAN. A sedan has four doors and a traditional trunk. …
  • COUPE. Mercedes-Benz. …
  • SPORTS CAR. These are the sportiest, hottest, coolest-looking coupes and convertibles—low to the ground, sleek, and often expensive. …

How many categories of vehicles are there?

A. India has a diverse range of cars available to own but most cars come in one of seven car body types: Hatchback, Sedan, SUV, MUV, Coupe, Convertible, and Pickup Truck.

What is a Class 4 vehicle?

Class 4 is the most common category as it includes most road vehicles: Cars (with up to eight passenger seats) 3-wheeled vehicles over 450kg. Motor caravans (a.k.a, campers, RVs, or motorhomes) Service vehicles such as ambulances and taxis.

Why are vehicles classified?

“Vehicle classification is used to classify vehicles into categories in order to provide information of vehicle’s types that pass the monitoring area”.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Question: Does cracking a window keep car cooler?

What is a Class 2 vehicle?

Class 2: This class of truck has a GVWR of 6,001–10,000 pounds or 2,722–4,536 kilograms.

What is a Category 1 vehicle?

Category 1 The total weight of the vehicle/s carrying the load must not exceed 46,000 kilograms and vehicle/s must have at least 5 axles. However, this limit can be increased to 50,000 kilograms if the vehicle/s carrying the load has at least 6 axles.

What is an M1 category vehicle?

M1 vehicles – passenger cars. M2 and M3 vehicles – buses and coaches. N1 vehicles – light goods vehicles (up to 3,500kgs) N2 and N3 vehicles – heavy goods vehicles (over 3,500kgs)

What are M and N category vehicles?

A motor vehicle with at least four wheels used for carrying passengers is categorized as ‘M’. While a motor vehicle with at least four wheels used for carrying goods, which may also carry persons in addition to goods – fall under category ‘N’.

What type of vehicle do I have?

The back of your car should have the manufacturer’s name on one side and the model on the other side. Plus, the car maker’s logo is usually on the front and back of your car. The make and model of the vehicle is usually located on the cover of the owner’s manual. Or, it can be found within its first few pages.

What is a Class 6 vehicle?

Class 6—With GVWRs between 19,501 and 26,000, this class covers medium-duty commercial trucks. It’s the category for single-axle and beverage trucks, along with rack trucks. School buses are also in Class 6.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  What are the numbers stamped on the engine block used for?

What is a Class 5 vehicle?

What is a Class 5 Vehicle? A class 5 vehicle are those of private passenger vehicles, motor caravans, ambulances and dual-purpose vehicles in all cases with 13 or more passenger seats.

What is a Class 7 vehicle?

Class 7 MOTs are for commercial vehicles weighing between 3,000kg and 3,500kg design gross weight.